The currency used in Malta is that of the Euro, the official currency of the European Union. The euro is divided into 100 cents, sometimes referred to as eurocents. The euro coins are 2, 1, 0.50, 0.20, 0.10, 0.05, 0.02 and 0.01. Notes are issued in 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5.
Malta adopted the Euro as of January 2008. Before, we used the Maltese Lira (Lm) often referred to as the Maltese pound.
Exchange controls have been completely liberalized. However, in line with regulations in force and ahead of the issue of EU Regulations on controls of cash entering or leaving the Community, any person entering or leaving Malta carrying cash or other monetary value which is equal to or in excess of about 12,000 or equivalent is obliged to fill in the appropriate declaration form available from the Customs.

The two main banks in Malta are Bank of Valletta (BOV) and HSBC.
Other commercial banks are located here.
Banks are normally open between 08:30 and 12:30 from Monday to Friday, and up to 11:30 on Saturday. Some branches may work for longer hours. Also, summer and winter opening hours may differ.
Exchange Bureaux at Malta International Airport are open 24 hours a day. International bankcards are accepted and foreign currency is easily exchanged. Banks, Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) can be found all over the Islands.

Most shops and restaurants accept Access, American Express, Carte Blanche, Diners Club International, MasterCard and Visa.